Duty of a Grandson

cool-text-203522098114774Today I begin my duties as Power of Attorney (POA) for my grandmother. With her only son gone, she’s been panicked that her home and savings will be lost to inheritance tax or court costs if she passes away before her affairs are in order. At 98 she has her way of seeing things, the death of her son put a huge wrench in her life plans.

I introduce myself to her bank. With the durable POA in hand I need to add my signature as authorized on all her accounts. I also need to access the contents of her safe-deposit box. She wants to make sure I know where everything is and what do to. She is putting a lot of trust in me, I never thought I’d be in this situation.

While I am at the bank with these tasks, I have left her the following samples from WWIT?! to read. Yes, it’s taken 7 months for me to get printed pages to her. I promised her the font would be large enough for her to read. I figured if I’m going to be deep in her life, she should be a part of mine too. I’ll let you know what she thinks!

The Pulse of Pride

a new Dad for Father’s Day

In My Silent Times

The Dad Trilogy #1- (Games People Play, The Name of the Game, What’s Love Got to Do With It)

Cancel Chemo, I’m Going Fishing!

As I Face Uncertain Futures

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

