Reflections on a Legacy

11th

I have been Blessed with amazing Grandparents. They have filled my life with Memories of Moments Most would Marvel. This day in September encompasses a trifecta of occasions to commemorate. I have chosen to celebrate Grandparents Day. Today marks the 38th time America has officially celebrated the grandparents of our nation.  President Jimmy Carter signed a Proclamation in 1978 setting the first Sunday after Labor Day aside in September “to reflect on the influence (our) grandparents have had in shaping (our) own destiny, and on the legacy bestowed upon our contemporary society by (our) grandparents’ generation.” Today I visit my Grandmother to spend time with such a Treasure.

gpd-11

My Bopchie is a First-Generation American, Entering this World in 1918 on the day before Halloween. Both her parents emigrated from Lithuania. Born Anne Marie Neveroski, she has witnessed Women’s Suffrage, The Great Depression, WWII, The Moon Landing and The New Millennium (to name a few). She Remembers each event Vividly. For each question I ask about the Past, she has an equal one for me about the Present. Bopchie gives me a glimpse into America’s history and I help her decipher this ever-changing world around her. As a girl, the only moving pictures she could see where in a Cinema. At home the family had 1 Radio in the Living Room and the Daily Newspaper on the stoop.  Today, I let her walk through the Garden I’ve grown by showing her a Video captured this Morning on my iPhone. She is amazed at how Real the Images appear on such a tiny screen.

cool-text-203522098114774I couldn’t think of any other way to spend this day than with her. It was another grandmother, just a year older than mine, who petitioned her home state of West Virginia to create a day to honor grandparents.  Marian McQuate, a grandmother of 43, worked diligently from 1970 until 1978 to make sure this day happens every year. If you have a grandparent to visit, do so. Not just today, but as often as you can. If you don’t have a grandparent think about “adopting” one. Many senior centers offer programs for volunteers to visit with an elderly person for company and companionship. It only takes a few hours a week to brighten up another’s life. After all, Grandparents are Great!

Leave a Reply

